Help: Stereo to Mono Summing Box with 4PDT Switch

Started by jb1, September 24, 2015, 06:53:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jb1

Hi everyone!

My name is Juan and I'm giving my first steps into DIY. I'm a guitarist and pedal enthusiast.
I just downloaded the almighty "DIYLC" software and did this layout for a "Stereo to Mono Summing Box with 4PDT Switch". The values and wiring are based on a RANE article I found online ("WHY NOT WYE").

The general idea is to make a box for the end chain of a pedalboard that would have a stereo pedal plugged in all the time (i.e. a TC Electronic HOF Reverb) and with the flick of a toggle switch be able to make it Mono (both outputs the same sumer signal) if I'm going to only one amp or keep it Stereo (true bypass) if I'm going to two amps or a mixing desk.

I read that with higher values resistors you get better stereo separation but you can't drive long cables and with lower values resistors the other way around. I've seen the same schematic with 470omhs, 1k, 10, 100k... I'm a little confused there. My idea is to drive a buffered signal (from the reverb and the rest of the pedals) to a guitar amp, so cables would be like 5/6 meters (16/19 feet) long at maximum. Of course the ideal would be a great channel separation with any sound loss for the length of cables/setup.

Can somebody check it for me and tell me if it's ok? Share your thoughts on the values if you think they could be better ones.

Thanks to all in advance and since is my first post, if I'm in the wrong forum or thread just let me know and Ill change it/move it.

Best regards to all.
Juan

ashcat_lt

When you're summing the signals, you don't want stereo separation.  When you're not summing, the resistors should be completely out of the picture.  Use the smaller ones so you can drive anything, including line and even some mic inputs.

PRR

> how to attach a pic to be visible