Vlavecaster variant: The JCM caster

Started by qtws, January 11, 2013, 08:07:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

qtws

hi all,

Hi all,

relative noob here, but inspired by my successful valvecaster build, I built a twin valve preamp based on a JCM800 (2203) and using 12AU7 valves at 12V. Just got it to work tonight, and have spent the last 3 h pretending I'm Jimmy Page  ;D ;D ;D, firing it into a Marshall Class5 combo.

It sounds very similar to the 1978 JCM800 I owned 20 years ago - quite sharp, great for rhythm, but could do with a boost for really overdriven solos.

I will be tweaking it further, with (possibly) volume control between stages and a marshall tone stack (just to play with it), but I think that the basic circuit could be labelled "some" with a third valve being labelled "more" - need to get another valve ASAP !

It cleans up beautifully with guitar vol control.

I'd attach the schematic, but I don't know how - how do I post a pic? I really want to share this one....I can't find a "how to"... but I have a jpeg ready to share.

Cheers,

Nigel

J0K3RX

Nigel,

You have to use a host to post pics like (www.dropbox.com) or some other site...Then put a link in your post to the pic/s   Unfortunately you can't attach pics/files in this forum, at least not that I know of.  
Doesn't matter what you did to get it... If it sounds good, then it is good!

Kesh

You have to find somewhere to host your jpg, like photobucket or something, then grab the pics url and put it in img tags, which you get by pressing third button from left, bottom row, when you are posting. above all the smileys.

would be very interested to see it

gcme93

For my images, I use this website, http://postimage.org/index.php?code=5225ea76

1. Rescale to the 640 x 480

2. When it's uploaded copy the "direct link"

3. Click on the picture frame icon above the  ;D smiley, and insert this direct link between the two squared bracket bits.

Should make sense when you do it :)