Recording Box - Is this doable?

Started by mremic01, January 18, 2013, 10:42:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mremic01

Last night I got it into my head to put together a sort of recording box. Something like two or three distortion/od circuits and a cab sim that's meant to be plugged straight into an audio interface. I guess you could just hook up a bunch of pedals, but I like the idea of having it all in one enclosure for portability. 

I'm pretty new to recording, but I was thinking of having it be something like Tubescream -> ROG Uno -> Dr Boogey/Crunch Box -> Rebote -> Cab Sim -> Interface. Would this get a decent recorded tone, or am I missing some really basic stuff that will make me feel stupid when you guys point it out? 
Nyt brenhin gwir, gwr y mae reit idaw dywedut 'y brenhin wyf i'.

Resynthesis

Definitely doable. The only thing I'd mention is you need to know a bit about the inputs on the interface - do you have a Hi-Z input? If not you might want to think about some sort of DI gubbins.

YMMV but I'm not too bothered about the can sim functionality these days as I tend to use software cabinet responses

moosapotamus

Yeah, impedance... A DI on the end might be a good addition. Would also be easy to include an output just before the DI that would give you the ability to plug directly into an amplifier, too. Then you could also use your box for live performance, or have the option to mic a cabinet for recording, and also have the DI output for direct recording.

~ Charlie
moosapotamus.net
"I tend to like anything that I think sounds good."

Kipper4

There is of course one big thing missing from this signal chain.
A real amp miced will (and this is just my opinion) always sound way better than a simulated cab or response.
I'm not saying it cant sound good either what i'm saying is. a real speaker pushing air infront of a mic will create things that are often felt missing in DI type recordings.