Debugging MXR Distortion, newbie theoretical question

Started by kapsel, July 01, 2013, 06:39:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kapsel

Hi everyone,

First post, although I am a long time lurker in the forum. I am not sure where or how i should ask this, so if my post needs to be moved please go ahead.

After building the Electra Distortion (success) and the EH Screaming Bird (works, treble is boosted but overall volume is a bit low, don't know what i did there), I build the MXR Ditortion + on stripboard, based on tonepad's schematic (http://www.tonepad.com/getFile.asp?id=115). Of course I couldn't make that work - i get no sound at all :)
So I tried to debug and read the FAQ. The thing is that being a newbie, I can not evaluate if the voltage readings I get at different test points indicate something wrong with my circuit or if they are normal.

So i would be grateful if you could please guide me to some pretty basic theory/ tutotrial/ whatever that will explain what "moves" in a circuit and how? I understand there is the signal from the guitar going from input to output and dc going from the battery to ground (??).

To make this more circuit specific, I measure c. 8,8V at the positive lead of C6 (8,8V was also the battery voltage when I measured it) but as I measure along from there I get 0v at all other components until output (R9, D1, D2, C7, R10).

I am rather confused so any help will be appreciated.

Cheers

smallbearelec

Hi--

The MXR Distortion + is a single stage. If it's wired correctly, it will work; if not, it doesn't.

Quote from: kapsel on July 01, 2013, 06:39:13 AM
I build...on stripboard

That's where your problem is. The process of going from a schem (even those that are known to work, like Tonepad's) to layout is loaded with minefields, and beginners should Not attempt it. To figure out what's wrong:

--Remove the stomp switch; it confuses matters.