News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

BOSS HM-2

Started by nofarewell, August 28, 2013, 09:47:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nofarewell

Heyyyy everyone!

I'm a beginner ver much, hence I beg you to give me as much detail (if you can, a full board/layout) to this magnificent pedal!
PTP is best because I don't plan it to be on a pcb.
So please guys help as much as you can on how to build a Boss HM-2. No I don't want to buy it.
I live in a 230 V zone.
THANKS VEERY MUCH :)

Mark Hammer

I have one, and while I don't find it especially inspiring, it may do something useful for you.

You can simplify the build a great deal by leaving out the electronic switching portions and all the support circuitry for that.  So, referring to this diagram - http://www.hobby-hour.com/electronics/s/hm2-heavy-metal.php - everything after the LEVEL control is not required, everything from Q2 on is not required, and neither is the circuitry around Q8 and Q9.  You won't need C4, R11, R16 or Q4, and can go directly from Q1 to C6.

In the stock HM-2, the HIGH control adjusts two gyrator sections (IC2a and IC2b).  You can get more tonal control by connecting C29 to its own 10k pot, in exactly the same way you see done with the others.  Naturally, C29 must be disconnected from C28 and VR3.

Another worthwhile modification is to use a SPST toggle switch to bypass D6/D7.  Those diodes produce "crossover distortion" - clipping the "sides" of the wave instead of the peaks.  Crossover distortion sounds very good on bridge pickups, but to my ears not so good on neck pickups.  So, being able to remove it temporarily is good.  Those diodes should be something with a low forward voltage, such as germanium or Schottky diodes.  Silicon diodes will eat up too much signal.

nofarewell

Thank you very much for your answer!
There is another schem, maybe it indicates the simplified design?:
http://www.freeinfosociety.com/electronics/schematics/audio/pictures/bosshm2.gif