questions about tube rectifiers

Started by mountianjustice, March 10, 2015, 08:15:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mountianjustice

I have a 35w4 rectifier tube would there be any benefit to adding it onto the 32vdc plate power supply on a valvecaster with a 12au6 tube? Would it get a more tubey sound than it already has? I realize i'm already running dc but what happens when you rectify dc voltage? Could i boost my plate voltage even higher with this tube in the works somewhere? I have some knowledge of rectifiers ive built a full wave bridge rectifier before to go from ac to dc and I have used diodes as clippers but what all can a rectifier really do

GibsonGM

Hi Mountain...good question :)   

The short answer is no, you won't gain anything by doing this...you're already providing a DC supply, as you said.   "Rectifying DC" will just mean creating a voltage drop for no good purpose.     

Down the road, if you make a 'more traditional' tube circuit (running on a nice high B+...), that rectifier might come in handy, if you like vintage tones.     For the VC, you're kind of already getting out of it what you will...it's running very starved (those tubes want high voltage!), and you don't have many stages.   

People like tube rectifiers, in bigger projects, because they allow the voltage to SAG a bit when playing hard, causing a more compressed sound. You won't be able to benefit from that phenomena at so low a voltage....the VC is what it is...a nice OD, good way into the tube world, but trying to give it a tube recto is probably some real big overkill, IMHO  ;) 

A tube recto will do just what a silicon rectifier will, with the exception that its inherent limitations allow for more sag.   
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

PRR