Why I hate metal film resistors!

Started by plexi12000, November 15, 2015, 11:02:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

plexi12000

Why aren't they color coded the SAME as other resistors?!  Grrr- dang that's annoying.  hahahaha  :icon_mrgreen:

Ben Lyman

I was wondering what was up with that just last night! I've never used them before, just grabbed them out of my pre-labeled pile, then tried to read them later when I was cleaning up... could NOT figure out what they were! So... what is it? A couple color bands on the left and then a black+red bands= multiply by 3? Instead of just using an orange band? I'm confused
"I like distortion and I like delay. There... I said it!"
                                                                          -S. Vai

amptramp

In the good old days of 1930's radios, the resistor markings were simple.  Just remember BED = body, end, dot.  The body colour was the first digit, the end was the second digit and the dot in the middle was the multiplier.  Right now I am looking at a red body, green end and orange dot.  25K.  Most of the metal film resistors I have in my stock have the resistance printed as a number on the side so 1003 would be 100K and 6141 would be 6140 ohms.

R.G.

It's really simple. They **are** coded the same way as other resistors, at least the color-banded ones are.

It's the same BBROYGBVGW code. It's just that for 1%, you need one more band. The first **three** bands are numbers, the fourth band is the number of zeros.

Mother Nature (and the resistor manufacturers) are just offering you some light mental exercise.

A sneakier and quicker way is to leave your ohmmeter on and weight the probes down so you can just drop a resistor across the metal  ends and read the resistor directly.

Sometimes cheating is faster.   :icon_biggrin:
R.G.

In response to the questions in the forum - PCB Layout for Musical Effects is available from The Book Patch. Search "PCB Layout" and it ought to appear.

plexi12000