Problem with Dallas Rangemaster and introduction

Started by Trolorol, January 09, 2016, 03:43:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trolorol

Hello, I am João I am from Portugal and I am 23 years and I am a live sound engineer. I consider myself a hobbyist in electronics and I play guitar since my teen years.

I recently discover the world of DIY stompboxes and I thought to give it a go, but I am having some problems with my first project.

I bought a lot of transistors from ebay (including OC44) and I've made the Rangemaster with the schematics from Fuzz Central with almost the same components (I was missing 2 metal film resistors so I used carbon ones no bigy for a testdrive).

Problem:
- The sound goes thru, and I can adjust the volume, but those mids frequencies doesn't distort at all, its just clean sound, I've been searching on my bff (AKA Google :icon_razz:) but I've come out empty.

As anyone had this problem, can someone help me figure this out ?

Thank you all in advance. :icon_smile:

Philippe

the Dallas Rangemaster was designed to excite the upper frequencies...think of it as a treble-oriented overdrive.

Trolorol

But the problem is that isn't overdriving, is just clean signal...

Ben Lyman

Welcome! I'm no expert but I never thought it was supposed to get distorted, although I'm sure you could figure out a way to make it that way if you wanted.
Most people run it into an already overdriven amp (or OD pedal) but I think this guy gives a pretty good sample (20 seconds in) of what it sounds like on it's own:
"I like distortion and I like delay. There... I said it!"
                                                                          -S. Vai

Trolorol

Quote from: Ben Lyman on January 09, 2016, 04:32:43 PM
Welcome! I'm no expert but I never thought it was supposed to get distorted, although I'm sure you could figure out a way to make it that way if you wanted.