Tonebender mkii (2) clone: Just crackling noise instead of sound

Started by Error!, July 15, 2016, 10:55:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Error!

Hello,
I am new to this forum and basically this entire DIY pedal thing, so if something of the following seems quite stupid to you that's the reason.

I had been thinking about building a guitar pedal myself for a long time and then at some point decided to start with a clone of a Tonebender MkII (2) as my first build.
Why a Tonebender? I have always liked to have one, but being a student I just cannot afford one of those pricy replicas out there; after a quick look at the schematic it didn't seem to be very complicated to build one and I ordered all the necessary components.
Putting it all together was pretty easy as well, there's just one problem:
I can't get it to work properly...

All I get out the effect is some crackling noise, if I hit the strings on my guitar extremely hard – way harder than you ever would when you're playing.
Turning the pots doesn't influence this noise just as the often recommended bias pot (20k), which can be set to literally any position without any effect.
I already found out – using google - that the transistors are the most crucial part of this circuit and that a relatively high leakage is more important than the HFE.

Here is some more information:
The schematic I used is the following:

In combination with this layout (just as a reference):

And these are the transistors I have ordered and measured:

Right now I'm totally frustrated that I can't get it to work, as the circuit looks quite simple and I checked my wiring literally a douzends time and just can't find the mistake...

I hope someone here on the forum has got any idea what I could try.

Any help would be highly appreciated!
Thanks in advance! ;)

Error!
Feel free to check ot my new YouTube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdSWJuPFqElS-jPUMM_agIA

duck_arse

hello, error!