Completely erratic distortion thing needs tone control

Started by KarenColumbo, March 27, 2017, 01:24:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KarenColumbo

I'm down with some hideous flu so all I'm capable of is sitting in bed an tinkering with the breadboard in a state of half-consciousness. So I somehow put together something that distorts what's put in it without really knowing what I was doring obviously.

I started out with some circuit I found somewhere I don't remember. Then I read a bit of AMZ lab notebook. Then I studied the Wampler Triple Wreck schematic. Then I just passed out or something. It sounds just like a real distortion (almost), but produces very strange waveforms. See this screenshot (blue is my Les Paul clone, red the emanations of my circuits output):

With a last effort before sleep I put together a schematic

What I humbly ask of you: Could you point me to a good insert position in the schematic for some sort of tone control? I wanna give it the Low/High pass treatment. Or something like it.

Oh btw: If I crank up R3 ("Drive" or something) it produces these waveforms which I find intimidating somehow:

• SUPPORTER
I see something of myself in everyone / Just at this moment of the world / As snow gathers like bolts of lace / Waltzing on a ballroom girl" - Joni Mitchell - "Hejira"

Cozybuilder

There are some problems with IC1. You are biasing it to ground through R1, not Vref (4.5V), that op-amp will be happier if biased to 4.5V. It looks like you meant to have a pulldown going to ground, that should be on the input side of C1. R2 (the 4K7 to ground on pin 2) needs a cap in series with ground to isolate that pin from DC (at ground level). You might want to rethink your diodes/LEDs/pot arrangement on pin 1.

A tone circuit would be good between the IC3 stages, you could easily up the gain on IC3B if necessary since you are using IC3A as a buffer.
Some people drink from the fountain of knowledge, others just gargle.

KarenColumbo