Help me identify the pedal I built

Started by FinkBrau, August 28, 2019, 04:31:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

FinkBrau

Hi, I'm new here and I'm a polite guy so let me introduce myself.

I'm FinkBrau, from France and I'm a mediocre (at best) guitar player, have been for about 12 years. I usually train regularly for a year, get discouraged, and put the guitar away until the itch comes back, about a year later. It's a cyclic thing.
I'm also a bit of a tone nerd, hence my presence here. I've built a few pedals over the year from online guides, sometimes using a purchased PCB, sometimes using a stripboard. I don't understand how electronics work, never have, never will (I'm a mechanical engineer...), but I can put the components at the right place with a layout.

Now for the problem that brought me here :

I got the itch again. So I've been putting my gear back together, even bought a new guitar :icon_rolleyes:

10 years ago I built a Tonebender Mk3 replica (I remember specificly it was a Mk3, but maybe I'm wrong?) using a stripboard, from a layout I found online, don't remember where. I know it's a 2 knob, 2 transistor version with positive ground.
Knowing nothing about transistors except that germanium sounds better, I bought a pair of OC76 PNP off ebay, and the other components from pedal parts plus.

The pedal works, but does not sound good. Hard to describe with my english, but it's very messy and when I turn the "Attack" pot too high up it just mutes the higher notes.

I assume it's the transistors and I'd like to replace them, but I just can't find which version of the ToneBender Mk3 I built, so I don't know which transistors to get.

I thought maybe some of you could help me?

If that helps, here's the components I ordered at the time. Pretty sure the list is complete :

8003           Xicon 1/4W 1% Metal Film Resistor 1K                 1
8002           Xicon 1/4W 1% Metal Film Resistor 10K                1