Diodes, Resistors, and Caps ONLY

Started by coot, April 21, 2020, 09:43:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

coot

Hey all, complete noob question... but I want to really understand how basic components (caps, resistors, diodes) can affect tone before venturing into the complicated world of transistors, ICs, Opamps, etc.

Is that even realistic? Can I even make any effects with just those three basic parts? Or does even the most basic fuzz need a transistor?

I know that caps and resistors are passive (diodes aren't, I guess?), and have done some simple experimentation just running my signal through some (no power), but just get an apparently unaltered signal.

I'd consider myself a tinkerer, at best. Just looking for something fun and manageable to clear my mind!

coot

antonis

Hi and Welcome.. :icon_wink:

First of all, search for resistive Voltage dividers..

Then, substitute a capacitor for any of them..

hint: Capacitors exhibit frequency dependent resistance..

P.S.
Any search for high/low/band pass filters should be quite satisfactory..

"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

rsq

Exactly ! I had fun (and learned a lot) building passive filters, using resistors and capacitors.

You can also check passive mixers and vactrol-based "passive" circuits. (you can make your own vactrols by taping a led to a LDR).
I made a cool low pass gate/vca some time ago, similar to this design :

mozz

• SUPPORTER

coot

Quote from: mozz on April 21, 2020, 12:02:08 PM
You can make a fuzz with a diode.

Do tell! Any sample schems?
The diodes need to be grounded, correct?

CodeMonk

Quote from: coot on April 21, 2020, 12:11:09 PM
Quote from: mozz on April 21, 2020, 12:02:08 PM
You can make a fuzz with a diode.

Do tell! Any sample schems?
The diodes need to be grounded, correct?

There was something out a few years back called Black Ice.