Relay noob question

Started by dumbasapost, July 14, 2021, 12:29:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dumbasapost

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to relay switching, and while I understand how to wire and code the basic effect on/bypass switch and the on/bypass/momentary on or bypass, I'd like to be able to set it up so that it has an on/bypass/long hold selecting a different value of a given parameter of the effect so that say you are using a reverb, it's in the on position, and you long hold the switch and it could set the decay to a larger value as long as the switch is held and then returns to the normal value when released. Was also thinking the same could be done with a delay to use an infinite repeats function...

Anyway, I have no clue how to achieve that specific thing, and all my go ogling just points to intelligent bypass switching which all just shows how to do the normal on/bypass/momentary on or bypass. Can anyone point me in the direction of some resources to help figure this out?

ElectricDruid

Welcome!

What you're after is certainly possible, and if you've got the "normal on/bypass/momentary on or bypass" thing worked out, you've clearing got the coding skills for it.

What you don't mention is what sort of circuit you want to control the parameters in. If the effect processing was being done in the same processor that's doing the bypass switching you mentioned, then it's easy, because you can change the values directly. If it's some other digitally controlled box with MIDI, you could alter the values by sending it a MIDI message. If it's an analog pedal with a pot, things get more tricky. Probably simplest would be to use CMOS switches to select between two separate pots (or one or both could be trimmers). Avoiding clicks on the switching might be tricky if it's got audio going through it when it switches though. There are plenty of other solutions though, so I'm sure we can find something that would work.

More information please!

dumbasapost