First Build Help: Coda Effects Black Hole, No Sound/No Led/Sound in Bypass

Started by Bucket, January 05, 2022, 12:17:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bucket

1. Coda Effects - Black Hole, Sunn Model T preamp in a box
2. Build Doc
3. Built on printed PCB purchased from Coda Effects.
4. Followed the build doc to the t, no substitutions, no modifications. Of the two possible builds outlined I chose to do the "boost on switch" version. I also chose to use a (small footprint, true bypass, input grounded in bypass, provision for dropdown resistor) daughterboard for the 3PDT footswitch. This is also the version of the PCB that has the SMD JFETs pre-soldered.
5. N/A
6. No sound, LED does not light, sound in bypass

Schematic:

I have a multimeter but I'm very new to using it. Here are some voltage readings:
DC jack: 9.45
Q5 C: 0.00 B: 5.35 E: 0.00
Q6 C: 0.00 B: 4.01 E: 0.00
Q7 C: 0.00 B: 0.73 E: 0.00
Q8 C: 0.73 B: 9.46 E: 0.00
Q9 C: 0.32 B: 0.95 E: 0.95
D1 A: 9.45 C: 9.45

Here's a couple gut shots:

And for what it's worth, here's the daughterboard guide:

Any and all help greatly appreciated!

eh la bas ma

Hello, welcome !

I think there is a problem with your soldering. From the picture you posted, i can see there isn't enough solder on all pads.

The trick is to apply the tip of the iron on the pad 1 or 2 second until it's hot and then put some solder (not too much, enough to fill the pad) and finally remove the iron following the leg of the component upward, to form a dome shape (not a ball shape).

If you fail, you need a desoldering pump to re-heat the solder and suck it out.

The process needs to be done quickly to avoid overheating the pcb, like 4 or 5 seconds max.

Transistors and IC (Q1, Q2, etc) are sensitive to heat, so you have to be quick around these components when you apply heat around them. It's better to remove them if you can, but i see there are some smd components soldered on your build, so be carefull not to overheat them.