Power from adapter does not power pedal

Started by Badcircuit, April 22, 2023, 06:19:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Badcircuit

Hi,

This is probably a simple question that has been answered before.

I have a board I'm working on whereby the 9 volt battery connection works, the wall adapter when plugged in does not work.  The pedal is together on its switch ready to go into its enclosure.  I'm new to pedal building so this is probably a simple topic.  Again, tge battery powers tge pedal, tge 9 volt adapter does not.  The adapter is good.  This scenario occurs when no batter is connected, just the 9 volt plugged in.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thank you.

RickL

So the 9 volt adaptor works for sure? You've used it to power another pedal, not just checked it with a multimeter?

Assuming this is true, which I do, two possibilities come to mind. Either the wiring to the jack in the pedal is incorrect, so you're not actually getting 9 volts to the pedal, or the polarity of voltage once it gets to the pedal is incorrect. Any chance that the pedal uses a positive ground?

So check to make sure 9 volts is actually getting into the pedal, and make sure it is the correct polarity (this could also be caused by a wiring mistake).

idy

Most common mistake that causes this is mixing up the two terminals on the 9v jack that, in our use, get "red" wires. There is a larger terminal that goes to ground,(usually black wire) and two terminals for "red", one going to the battery, the other to the circuit. The one intended for the battery is "normally closed" meaning when nothing is plugged into the jack, the battery + goes to the pcb. but when you plug a jack in, that wire's connection is lifted and it goes nowhere.

So if you get the two terminals mixed up you get power from the battery, but not from external power.

bluebunny

FYI, if the tabs at the back of the DC socket are aligned thus:

_
         _
     |