5th time starting over on my 1st stompbox.. I'm losing my sanity (DOD OD-250)

Started by garybee, June 14, 2023, 08:13:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

garybee

No matter what I do, I cannot get this circuit to work. I've started completely over five times now with brand new components every time..
I'll be up front with my weak areas right away, this is my first post: I don't really comprehend grounding fundamentals, I am new to circuits altogether and I absolutely am in love with the concept of envisioning a sound, and building a stompbox that represents it accurately. I'm starting small with a DOD OD 250 circuit and I just can't make it work! I get the bypass signal but just fuzz (bad kind) and scratchy shitbird noises when I activate the @#$%in thing. The LED is mounted and works normally when I hit the 3pdt switch but no function whatsoever from the actual distortion. I'll include pics and a reference to the layout I tried to follow. I really tried hard to just Google my troubles away but I'm really really discouraged and I just don't have another one in me at this rate. Thanks in advance, I'm ready to start my journey!

GibsonGM

Hi, welcome!  Yes, pics, and the schematic and any build info you are working from.   Is it a PCB you bought, are you using Vero or perf  board, that kind of info is required!

We can get you running, and you will learn some of the fundamentals too so that in the future you don't run into this again! 

*  Grounding provides a return path for the power that flows from say the battery into a circuit. It must flow in a 'circle' back to its source.  It can go thru each part in order (series), or flow thru many connected across the + and -  (parallel).     An electrical circuit will not work if the grounds are not correct.  One symptom of a ground not connected that should be is FUZZ (buzz) and crappy noise issues.   If you're lucky that may be your problem.
  • SUPPORTER