Digitech Ricochet Footswitch Fix

Started by moid, July 16, 2023, 04:46:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

moid

Hello everyone, it's nice to be back!

Just for a change I thought I'd post a fix I discovered in case anyone ever has to deal with the issue in the future. A friend of mine asked me if I could look at his Ricochet pedal, he said most of the time when he pressed the footswitch it failed to engage. I said hopefully the switch was just worn out and I could replace it with a new one. I've never used one of these before, and it was a total pain in the arse to open (and put back together). There are two PCBs inside connected with a lot of metal pins (thankfully they survived me rocking the shell back and forth a bit to get the two halves apart) the pedal is made of steel I think, much thinner than aluminium stompboxes, but very rigid and you need to flex the damn thing to pop the jack sockets out to get inside (and then also wiggle the two PCBs apart). I seriously hope I never open one of these again. Oh yes and the pedal requires an imperial measurement allen key to open! I'm glad I bought a dual metric/imperial set of allen keys 25 years ago, but this is the first time I've needed to touch the imperial side! I'm surprised - I know Digitech is /was American, but do the Americans still design things in imperial measurements? I would've thought that any kind of engineering these days would be in millimeters... anyway, back to the plot: