Good Distortion Pedal Project?

Started by Christoper, July 13, 2024, 02:26:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Christoper

Good afternoon all,

I have an EE degree but my job at the moment isn't technical, so I have a drive to do some circuit work in my free time.

What I have under my belt:

3 DS-1 mods - One I tweaked the input boost stage, tone control, and diodes. One was converted to a soft clipping circuit with the stock BMP tone control being split to a concentric pot so you can adjust each frequency individually. The third one was turned into a mediocre fuzz.

1 Rat mod - you can see a thread about it I started recently. It's not that intensive, but I liked the results.

1 Harmonic Peroclator build - 1:1 HP clone I built using point to point wiring in a sheet metal enclosure I built.

That being said, what's a good distortion that's kind of out of left field, but at the same time easy to understand the circuit and has a lot of opportunities for tweaking? I would prefer to mod an existing piece of hardware, but I'm no stranger to building from scratch.

Focalized

Don't know what you mean as you say existing, something you already have? It be easier from scratch than buying something new. Or something used that might not be working and might be a pain. I'd go looking at all the Big Muff alikes. There's dozens of them and endless distortion and overdrives.

Christoper

I mean existing circuits as I'd rather try and make something out of an off the shelf pedal rather than build my own version of an existing circuit from scratch.

I guess what I'm trying to ask is, what distortion pedal is a good playground for tweaking? Preferably something with little info in terms of circuit analysis, so I'm forced to do it myself.

Christoper

Perhaps I will try to mod a DS-1 into a Rat?

Focalized