How does an LFO modulate audio?

Started by Transistor-Transistor, July 23, 2024, 08:43:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Transistor-Transistor

So I'm still pretty new to audio electronics and I'm still learning about what affects what. The only pedals I've really built are dirt pedals and I want to learn how to build modulation. I was wondering if any of you could explain the circuitry behind an LFO and how it can affect pitch and/or volume in a circuit. Thanks in advance!
Buck up little camper!
-Charles De Mar

Matthew Sanford

Through resistance modulation generally, I believe.

Take Tom's filter, for instance. On the audio scheme you can see the LDRs (1/2 vactrol) in the filters, on the LFO scheme the LEDs (other 1/2 vactrol) that modulate them.
"The only knowledge is knowing you know nothing" - that Sew Crates guy

Controlled Chaos Fx

PRR

Through a "modulator". There are several kinds.
  • SUPPORTER

ElectricDruid

Besides "changing resistance" which Matthew mentioned and which covers things based on vactrols (LED/LDR) and things based on FETs, there's also "changing gain".
You can control gain using OTAs or VCAs, and you can use tha variable gain to control other parameters in a circuit. So you can build OTA-based phaser stages, or VCA-based filter stages, for example. Of course, the simplest example with those is to use them for direct volume control, in which case if you attach an LFO, you've got tremolo.

Ultimately what the "modulation" is is a particular parameter in the circuit that's being altered automatically. I think of it as adding a control pot, and having that control tweaked for you (by the LFO-elf?!). You *could* even just go as far as sticking a pot into a circuit, and then sticking an arduino-controlled servo on the pot to tweak it for you. It's expensive, bulky, and over-complicated, but it would work and it makes the concept very clear.

HTH

GGBB