What do you all use for casing on a home-built stompbox?

Started by Redbeard, November 18, 2003, 02:45:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Redbeard

I'm building my first stompbox for a project in school (I'm an electronics student).  I'm building a Rat pedal.  Any suggestions on where I can buy casing, or what to use to build one?  I'm new to the site, it looks pretty damn cool.
Maybe Lisa has a point about America being the land of oppurtunity, and maybe Adil is right about the machinery of capitalism being oiled with the blood of the workers.

Rodgre

A lot of us use Hammond cast aluminum boxes (which are like MXR-style boxes) that you can get through most electronics suppliers like Mouser and Digikey.

You can get pretty much anything you need for pedal building through www.smallbearelec.com  Small Bear sells Hammond and similar boxes.

If you're in a pinch, I believe Radio Shack still has some metal enclosures, including a clamshell-style box that should be suitable for a stompbox. Stay away from plastic enclosures unless you're never going to leave your bedroom with them, and you don't care much about sheilding....

Roger

Redbeard

Thanks, Rodg'!
My deadline is comin' up.  I gotta finish this project, it counts as 33% of my grade in AC/DC class.
Maybe Lisa has a point about America being the land of oppurtunity, and maybe Adil is right about the machinery of capitalism being oiled with the blood of the workers.

Samuel