Loud squeal/hiss from Smash Drive

Started by zener, November 22, 2003, 12:26:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zener

I'm a newbie and this my first attemp to build one.

I had a Smash Drive wired into a breadboard. It is working now, but I have some problems with it.

When I push the switch on, there's always a sudden short (less than a second) burst of strong sound, then it will go to its normal level. While playing with the circuit on, I always get a fading in loud squeal or hiss whenever I stop playing. :x  Another thing, the tone seems to be lower than usual though the treble pot is at full. I actually use a karaoke which mic input was modified by my dad so that I can use it as guitar amp. I don't any problem with it putting my guitar straight into it.

By the way, the circuit is still in the breadboard and the wires are kinda tangled but I looked a lot of times for any shorts and there was none.

Is this normal? Does the loud noise disappear if I put into a PCB then in an enclosure? If not, what might be the reason and what can be done?

Thanks for any help  :wink:

Zener
Oh yeah!

Paul Marossy

It sounds like the circuit is starting to oscillate when there is no input. Try changing the value of the pot to a 10K and see if that helps. You could also try reducing the value of the 47uF electrolytic cap, maybe a 22uF. I seem to remember that there was a difference between the chips available at RadioShack, something to do with different manufacturers of the same chip. This was a while ago, I just don't remember all the details...

I remember having a similar problem when I built mine. I think I ended up soldering a small value cap between the wiper and one of the lugs on the on the pot to stop the oscillation in mine. I think it was in the neighborhood of 560pF or so. Putting a tone stack on it may also help some, too.