Anybody plays slide here?...

Started by Gilles C, April 09, 2004, 02:37:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gilles C

I was just wondering.   :?

Wanted to know what set-up you use or prefer to use for playing slide.

I started playing slide (well... guitar as well, anyway) again after a a quiet period of over 1 year, and I stated to experiment with a few things to get a new sound: BOSS OD-3, Purple Peaker Clone (Aron's original schem ), and the Overdrive sound from my Fender amplifier.

I can get a good "Clapton sound" with my amp, but I can't always bring my amp with me.

So I would like to find a good dirtyer sound for when I plug straight into a console via a Direct Box.

I'm ok with the clean accoustic sound for the accoustic set, but I would like to make a change for the electric set.

That's the guitar I mostly use:

That's a Johnson accoustic guitar with a Don Lace pick-up.

But I could bring another electric guitar for the elctric set one some day...

A new effect to build would be welcome  :D but I don't have as much time available for that these days, so I try to choose more and build less.  :(

Btw, if you really dig slides, I couldn't resist and just ordered this one.

My heart went crazy when I saw it  8)

http://www.bigheartslide.com/legacy.html

If you don't like or play Blues, you won't understand I suppose  :wink:

Thanks,

Gilles

PeterJ

Gilles -- thanks for posting the pic -- I always like to see musicians in action. I play lap steel in an alt-country band, and I go for a dirty-ish slide sound. I go from the steel to a Guyatone OD-2 (a TS variation) to a DOD Bi-Fet preamp for clean boosts to a Blues Jr, . I also work the volume knob, which is something I'm still getting used to.