News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

amp building

Started by zeppman, March 24, 2005, 10:26:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zeppman

Does anyone know a good place to look for amplifier building?  I want more of a step by step kit since I'm a beginner...5-10watt tube amp kit.  Anyone here ever build something like this?  Any feedback would be great.  Thanks.

smashinator

You, my friend, need to go to www.AX84.com

Everything you need, plus an awesome forum chock full of helpful info and people.
People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it. - George Bernard Shaw

http://pizzacrusade.blogspot.com/

Fret Wire

Weber is now carrying some complete, step by step kits.
https://weberspeakerscom.secure.powweb.com/store/kitord_r.htm
The 5F1 tweed champ is right in your power range.

These kind of amp kits are almost too good. You can build a great amp without knowing or learning much. Thats where amp forums like Smashinator listed are great.
Fret Wire
(Keyser Soze)

zeppman

great link...but i think i need a little more help then that.  I don't even now pin numbers on tubes!

robotboy

Quote from: zeppmangreat link...but i think i need a little more help then that.  I don't even now pin numbers on tubes!

Not trying to be a downer, but you should be extremely careful if you don't know what you're doing. The warning on the ax84 front page should not be taken lightly:

The projects described in these pages utilize POTENTIALLY FATAL HIGH VOLTAGES. If you are in any way unfamiliar with high voltage circuits or are uncomfortable working around high voltages, PLEASE DO NOT RISK YOUR LIFE BY BUILDING THEM. Seek help from a competent technician before building any unfamiliar electronics circuit. While efforts are made to ensure accuracy of these circuits, no guarantee is provided, of any kind!

That's why I'm messing with stompboxes instead of amps  :wink:

KORGULL

I'd do some more research before jumping into high voltage work.