The Q-Tron, The Adaptor, And Dying Battery Simulation.

Started by Higgie, July 13, 2005, 05:32:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Higgie

Hi, I'm pretty new here. Been Reading alot, but not posting. Anyway, on to the point....

Anyone here who has a Q-Tron will know that it only operates by a Power Supply, and that it is 24V DC. Now, what I want to do is Modify the power supply for "Dying Battery Simulation" in an attempt for that "Sir Psycho Sexy" Sound. Now, Firstly I would like to know how I would do this. I e-mailed the guy from SmallBear Elec and he said:

QuoteGenerally speaking, dying battery simulation is simply putting a potentiometer in series with the power supply output to simulate a high internal battery resistance.

But he said he's never experimented with a 24V adaptor and was unsure of the proper value of resistance. I was hoping somebody here would know the answer and possibly be able to help me do this project. I have some experience in Soldering and Electronics, so it shouldn't be THAT hard.

Thanks guys,
James

Mark Hammer

Um, I'm not so sure anything that operates from a 24vdc supply is really a good candidate for "dying battery" simulation.  Seems to me that the pedal is engineered for maximum cleanliness.  Moreover, dying battery effects are usually the sort of thing when you start out with 9vdc, and dropping to maybe 7.5 makes a big difference in the performance of specfic transistors.  There is a humungous gap between what the power supply provides and what would likely detract from the circuit's performance enough to produce a drastic (but predictable) change in performance and tone.

Higgie

Thanks for the reply. But would it be possible? Because if it is, then I wanna do it :D

sir_modulus

it is possible....but I don't know how to do it...so bump!

Higgie

Travis

The LM317 can put out regulated voltages of up to 37V, as I recall.  Use pots or trimmers, and you can make a variable psu.  Check GEO for the rest.

Johnny G