Making a pedal less trebly

Started by Crawf, April 22, 2006, 06:56:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Crawf

I recently built a Boutique Bender using the PCB i bought from GGG and it turned out spot on, no problems at all which was good for me as i`m a beginner at pedal building.The only thing is, i find it a bit too trebly for my taste even with the tone on the pedal turned way down,is it possible to make it a bit less fierce by changing some component values?,thanks again Crawf

rockgardenlove

I'd say make the tone cap or input cap a bit higher in value, but I'm just a newbie.

Processaurus

Quote from: rockgardenlove on April 22, 2006, 07:10:35 PM
I'd say make the tone cap or input cap a bit higher in value, but I'm just a newbie.

Hi, making the input cap bigger would just let more bass into the circuit.  The tone knob isn't the usual, so changing the values of its capacitors wouldn't give any high end rolloff

The easiest way to attenuate the treble, is to make the 150pF cap (C8) that goes from the volume knob wiper to ground bigger.  If you have individual sockets, you can socket the cap and try a couple.  or use clip leads and audition a couple.