DOD Phasor 595 mystery problem

Started by ovnifx, June 15, 2006, 03:52:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ovnifx

Hi all,
I recently picked up a DOD Phasor 595 which works but has very low output, both when engaged and when bypassed.  If I really turn up the gain on a preamp following the pedal, it sounds exactly the way a phaser should sound.  But with normal levels (eg. inline between guitar fx), it is very low volume.  I spent some time with pal "soggybag" trying to diagnose it, with not much luck.  We removed a pulldown resistor from the output, and that didn't seem to change anything, so I haven't replaced that yet (you'll see two empty holes on the board).  We also replaced the resistor across the output TL022 with a higher value (it's the one sticking up near the number "92" in the second photo); that DID increase the gain at the far side of that resistor, but it did not perceptibly change the actual output signal.  I'm a novice at all this, so there's probably something obvious I'm missing- please let me know!
Here is the schematic: http://www.muzique.com/schem/dod595.jpg
Here's the circuit:

bioroids

Hi!

I think a good way to tackle this is using an audio probe:
http://www.geofex.com/FX_images/audioprb.gif

You keep testing the audio path from the input jack to discover in which stage the sound gets lost.

Luck!

Miguel
Eramos tan pobres!

Transmogrifox

take to the board with some electronics cleaning spray.  Unsocket the op amps and clean the sockets , brush the op amp pins.  I'm suspicious that there is some kind of a short formed by some grime or similar dust build-up.  This would either directly divide the signal down to a low level, or it would make one of the op amps go unstable at a very high frequency.

Another easy thing to try is to just replace the dual op amps since they're socketed and easy to access.