What's so special about the EH Ram's Head Big Muff?

Started by skiraly017, July 18, 2006, 03:29:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

skiraly017

I hear and read people raving about the Ram's Head version of the Big Muff. Any ideas why? Thanks.
"Why do things that happen to stupid people keep happening to me?" - Homer Simpson

Mark Hammer

Over the years, the transistors were changed in the basic circuit, resulting in some tonal differences.  Given the variation in transistors and passive components, though, you have to wonder whether the frenzy for Ram's head Muffs is a product of rumour or reality.

As a scientist, my doubt is provoked when I realize that no one has ever sat down with a pile of ram's head muffs, as well as similar randomly selected examples from other issues, and done blind parametric comparisons to identify what was consistently characteristic of THAT issue vs THIS issue.  The trouble is that too often someone gets used to a certain tone from THEIR pedal, tries out a single example of a different issue belonging to a buddy, gets surprised by the differences between their pedal and the other one, and the rumour mill gets started.  In fact, they may well own a real stinker from their issue and the buddy owns a real rarity from a different issue that sounds uncharacteristically good.

Sir H C

I agree, but I can say that the op-amp one does have a unique sound that is noticably different (and the ICBM captures that sound exactly).  Since that one is more consistant because of the design, I could see that one being the best to get repeatable results.

Branimir

MY two cents about the muffs.

I've A/B compared usa reissue muff (all stock) and my diy clone (tonepad layout), I used green russian schematic, and BC549c transistors, block capacitors, 1% (or 2%) tolerance resistors.