Any mods for a Behringer TO800?

Started by Lp_man, September 09, 2006, 07:10:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lp_man

I got a PM from a guy on the BKP forum asking if there was anything to make it sound less compressed, but I have no experience with these pedals, can anyone post links or information if there is any way to make it sound better?

Thanks

-Will

MartyMart

My guess is that this is a tube screamer type circuit !
So all those mods will probably apply, for less compressed OD, I would say that just
adding another 1N4148/914 in series with one diode in the FB loop would help, or
perhaps changing one of the stock diodes to either a 1N4001 or a 3mm red LED.

In my "TS" builds , I like the use of 1 x 1N4148 and 1 x 1N4001 a lot.
More diodes = less of a compressed and distorted sound.

MM.
"Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm"
My Website www.martinlister.com

Lp_man

Thats pretty much what I suggested as a guess !

Heres some pics:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/1003/tomr61/CIMG6215.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/1003/tomr61/CIMG6214.jpg

Which diodes are for clipping? I was thinking D3/D2 because they seem to have been made for easy modding access?

-Will

bancika

to be sure compare components near suspected diodes with components on TS808 schematic
The new version of DIY Layout Creator is out, check it out here

aj_rocker

I like how behringer dont use surface mounted stuff. Their bypass is a little weird, and they go wrong. I would like to know if someone can tell me about the bypass system.

thanks

Aj

MartyMart

Quote from: aj_rocker on September 09, 2006, 08:18:39 AM
I like how behringer dont use surface mounted stuff. Their bypass is a little weird, and they go wrong. I would like to know if someone can tell me about the bypass system.
thanks
Aj

WHAT !!
Look at the second photo above , it's ALL surface mount :D
Quote from: Lp_man on September 09, 2006, 07:23:38 AM