Line 6 DL4 Switching problems

Started by golden_virgin, November 14, 2006, 07:28:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

golden_virgin

I've just acquired a DL4 but the switching seems to have gone a bit crazy.

The problem seems to be with the first switch on the left.

When i press it sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't and sometimes it engages one of the other presets.

I'm quite new to electronics but I had a look at the circuit board and nothing seems to be amiss visually.

Does anybody know what the problem might be and if theres a solution for it?

thanks

heyniceguy

weird. i JUST bought one of these on EBAY with the EXACT same problem. i mean EXACT. Same switch too. Here's the fix....

INITIAL TEST: With these DSP pedals, i ALWAYS reset to factory settings before working on them. for the Line 6's plug the power in, and hold switch A and D down while plugging an input jack in. Hold it like that for 5-10 secs. release. Repower up. You are now reset to factory. Now onto the meat...

Hint number one: IT'S NOT THE RELAYS, IT'S THE SWITCH ON THE PCB!!!  To test this, take the back cover off, and locate the 4 pads where the switch is mounted. turn the thing on, take a piece of wire and touch the 2 left pads together. each time you touch, the "A" LED will turn on and off like it should. if this is the case, which i bet it is, then the switch is crapped.

usually, the "A" switch is the most used, so the contacts on the momentary contactor switch on the PCB (NOT the outer footswitch) gets worn out or corroded over time. the ideal thing is to call Line6 and have them send you a new PCB contactor switch, which you can just swap in and out.

But i'm impatient, so what i did was use a new shiny SPST Carling momentary footswitch i bought from Small Bear Electronics months ago, and swapped it in for the existing footswitch. just wire the 2 contacts on the footswitch to the 2 pads on the PCB where the contact switch was.