Beginner Problems with HF Mod

Started by daverdave, December 28, 2006, 06:02:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

daverdave

Howdy,
I'm pretty new to electronics and very new to this forum, I am currently on my forth project, the jen HF Modulator, I used the layout from GGG, and used 2n3094s. I've probably bitten off slightly more that I can chew here as the other pedals I built were very simple. I finished it the other day but the effect doesn't work, the signal is going through the box when activated but is not affected with the exception of the tone knob, which seems to work OK.

Does anyone know what the problem is most likely to be or could it be a number of things, thanks.
Dave

Pushtone

Hello and welcome. I'll be putting this one together soon as well.

Since you are getting un-effected sound the problem might be around the Intensity and speed controls part of the schematic.

Looking at the GGG schem, thats everything left of C6.

What are the voltages on Q2 and Q3?

You DID use the right layout and the right pad holes for 3904s, right?

Any part substitutions?

See this thread for debugging posts too.
http://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=29816.0

http://www.diystompboxes.com/wiki/index.php?title=Debugging
It's time to buy a gun. That's what I've been thinking.
Maybe I can afford one, if I do a little less drinking. - Fred Eaglesmith

daverdave

I'm positive I used the layout for the 2n3094s, and I didn't use any part subtitutions. One Thing I kind of did wrong, which is a little embarrassing, is I used 18 gauge wire, which is kind of cumbersome for me to work with. I managed to get everything wired up, but a few of the solder joints broke loose on the board while I was wiring it, I did repair them but another might have come loose without me noticing.
As I said, I'm pretty new to this. Because of the wire I can't get to the underside of the board that easily, but I'll give it a try tonight and get back to you, thanks for the reply.
Dave