Foot Controlled Phaser

Started by Red_special_21, August 14, 2007, 12:33:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Red_special_21

hey everybody,

i'm very new to making effect pedals (actually i'm just about to start making a Treble Booster then moving onto a Chorus pedal)

i'm a Big Brian May fan and so i want some effects so i can get close to his sound, now i could go out and buy the individual effects or buy the Digitech Brian May pedal. But ive decided against this as you cant experiment or alter the individual effects in the pedal, and also being a student and being poor most of the time ive decided to attempt to build them.

as i said before i'm about to make a treble booster and then a chorus pedal, the last effect pedal on my list is a Foxx Foot Phaser now there currently going for £150 to £200 so i definatly cant afford one of those,

so i thought i would ask you guys for your expert opinion to answer these 3 questions.

1) What would be the best Phase effect clone to choose to make?
2) Could you put a expression wah pedal on it?
3) And how would i do this?

all advice would be grateful
thanks
Its Better To Burn Out Than To Just Fade Away!!

Mark Hammer

A 1978 issue of POLYPHONY has a nice little foot-controlled phaser circuit.  I'll need to scan and post it.  Essentially, it is a plain vanilla FET-based phaser with a rather conventional (by analog synth standards, anyways) CV input stage to feed the FET gates.  A "range/offset" control is included that feeds a DC bias to the CV mixer, suppposedly in tandem with whatever LFO or envelope source you want to feed it.