News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

PT-80 questions

Started by J.D., January 06, 2008, 02:11:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

J.D.

Hi, I'm trying to build GGG's PT-80 delay http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/pdf/ggg_pt80_lo1.pdf
1) My problem is that  the 12v reg is only putting out 5.82v--I have 7.28v coming in---I'm not sure if this is a bad reg or if something else could be effecting it?
I have a 12v reg wall wart--couldn't I just jumper the 70L12 in-put & out-put and use that? It says in GGG's text to use a 15-18v wall wart and leave the 12v reg in but if the wall wart's all ready regulated I not sure why I couldn't use it(but then I'm new to this stuff and there may be a reason).
2) Also I swapped the TLO72 and used a LF353n because I couldn't find the TLO72 I had for this project(I'll find it next year when I clean up the garage I'm sure).
  Thanks

geertjacobs

1. The regulator used in the PT-80 is a 7812.
The datasheet of the regulator shows that you need at least 14.5 input voltage.
So your 12V regulated wallwart will not work for the PT-80, unless you remove the regulator and bridge the pads with a piece of wire.
2. at first sight they seem to be pin-compatible.

J.D.

Hey thanks for the reply--OK so so much for that-- I'm using a LM78L12 and the MAX1044 charge pump so shouldn't  the 1044 be boosting the voltage up on one its of pins?( I'm still searching for that data sheet )

Here's the readings I'm getting on the 1044
pin 1) 8.92      pin8) 8.92

pin2) 8.91       pin7) 8.00

pin3) 8.36       pin6) 7.2

pin4) 1.06       pin5) 1.13

Guess I'll keep checking my work out

Michael Allen