I need some advice from experienced airbrushers

Started by jakenold, January 07, 2008, 11:26:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jakenold

Hi all,

I've read some of the topics regarding this subject, as I have looked around the local community, but I'm still kinda confused.

I live in a two bedroom apartment in Copenhagen, Denmark. Living here is very expensive, and as I am studying I haven't got the time for a job, other than the 8 hr/week thing I have, so I can't afford to rent a small workshop or something like that to make my effects. Therefore, I've furnished my walk in closet (170x60x220cm) to be used as my workshop, and it actually works quite great - I can snap some photo's, if people are interested. Anyhow, my landlord was so kind as to let me use my portion of the backstairs for a table, where I paint my boxes. I use spray paint, and have put together a card board box with fans, directing most of the nasty fumes through a hose outside the window. I live on the 5th floor, so nobody's annoyed by the odor and I get to keep a couple of braincells (I do use a respirator).

Now to my question:

I'd like to replace my spraycans with an airbrush setup, as I feel it's easier to work with in the way that you can sit in close quarters and work, instead of having to stand and "spray away" like I am doing now. Therefore, what equipment do you guys recommend?

For starters, I'm not looking for anything other than getting my boxes in a nice, solid color, so I guess that might save me some money on the brush itself. I want something that's good quality, which will give me a good result. Is Badger 250 the one to go for? And how about compressors - which models do people recommend? I want one as silent as possible, even though I know that might be me being naive again.

Thank you so much in advance!

Jake

dxm1