Small Clone/Heladito output volume increase

Started by jdub, November 07, 2008, 11:17:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jdub

I'm a bit of a noob (4 builds + this one), so I'm hoping someone can help.

Recently built a Tonepad Heladito 02 Small Clone and it works pretty well, but I'm experiencing a bit of weirdness: the effected signal is significantly louder then the bypass signal, especially with distortion in front.  Even when it's the sole effect I get a lot of gain.   I've seen several posts that mention a volume decrease when the effect is on, but none that mention a boost.  I've fiddled with the trimpot a bit, but that doesn't seem to help.  Not sure where else to look, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

One other odd thing: the rate knob works OK (increases as I turn it up), but when I get to about 85% (that is, between 3 o' clock and 4 o' clock on the knob), I get this bizarre boingy insectoid noise with a bit of distortion and, past that point, no effect at all.  It sounds like the rate maxes out and then disappears.  I used a 1M reverse log pot, and even switched it for a new one, but it still does it.  I mean, I have the complete range of usable rates, but they don't evenly spread out over the range of the pot.  Bizarre. Any ideas?

Many thanks!
A boy has never wept nor dashed a thousand kim

Kerly

I used the "volume pot" mod as stated by someone in the small clone build reports in tonepad.
It involves replacing the 100k output resistor with a 100k audio pot.
I actually wired my volume pot up wrong so im still waiting to get home a fix that, for me it is either "on or off" but I already posted a topic about this called "replacing resistor with pot" and got the correct way to wire up the volume pot if you are interested in going that route.