Best DIY delay pedal?

Started by Hupla, December 05, 2009, 03:09:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hupla

So guys what do you reckon is the best delay pedal to build? I wanna build one eventually after the BSIAB2 and Dr. Boogey im building

I like the look of the PT-80 from GGG. Is it good?
Completed builds: BSIAB2
Pedals to build: Dr.Boogey, TS-808

jacobyjd

It depends on what you're looking for :) I would argue that the tape delay emulator/abomination of a delay I've been conceptualizing for the past two months will be the best :-P Some might argue that a BBD delay is going to be better than any PT2399 delay you could put together.

Anyway...of the 2399 delay projects, it looks like the Echo Base takes the cake. With the ability to choose between tails/true bypass, modulation control, etc, I think it's a solid project based on those features alone.

The again, the Rebote 2.5 is a solid project as well, but it's definitely filtered to act like an analog delay, so keep in mind that it's muddy.

I don't know a whole lot about the PT-80, but I'd put my money on the Echo Base.
Warsaw, Indiana's poetic love rock band: http://www.bellwethermusic.net

Hupla

Quote from: jacobyjd on December 05, 2009, 03:23:53 PM
It depends on what you're looking for :) I would argue that the tape delay emulator/abomination of a delay I've been conceptualizing for the past two months will be the best :-P Some might argue that a BBD delay is going to be better than any PT2399 delay you could put together.

Anyway...of the 2399 delay projects, it looks like the Echo Base takes the cake. With the ability to choose between tails/true bypass, modulation control, etc, I think it's a solid project based on those features alone.

The again, the Rebote 2.5 is a solid project as well, but it's definitely filtered to act like an analog delay, so keep in mind that it's muddy.

I don't know a whole lot about the PT-80, but I'd put my money on the Echo Base.