Can someone check this PCB layout? Thanks!

Started by mikemaddux, February 02, 2010, 08:15:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mikemaddux

Im trying to teach myself this DIY layout creator software and my eyes feel like they are going to fall out of my head....

I wanted to pick something simple to try to create my own layout...

Did I do it right?  oh ya J is for a jumper....
Completed Builds: A lot...

Brymus

On your schematic Vcc goes to pins 8 and 4 on your layout it looks like pins 1 and 5 ,unless the 555 pin out is different.I thought pin 1 was always top left ?
Or I'm looking at it backwards and you mounted the 10k and that other cap on the bottom of the board ?
I'm no EE or even a tech,just a monkey with a soldering iron that can read,and follow instructions. ;D
My now defunct band http://www.facebook.com/TheZedLeppelinExperience

chi_boy

I'm no expert, but I think the 555 pins are pretty far off all around.  What datasheet did you use for the 555 pinout?  Mine shows the pin numbers 1-4 down the side with the dot and 5-8 up the other side.  Just like any old op-amp.

I've seen some layouts with pin 1 marked with a square pad.  That may clarify your intent.

You could also eliminate both jumpers by moving some traces around.
"Great minds discuss ideas, average minds discuss events, small minds discuss people." — Admiral Hyman G. Rickover - 1900-1986

The Leftover PCB Page

mikemaddux

Again, im a complete noob at this building layout stuff, so any help is very welcome.

Brymus,
I was trying to imagine what the bottom of the board would look like with the 555 sticking thru the top.

Quote from: Brymus on February 02, 2010, 09:47:41 PM
On your schematic Vcc goes to pins 8 and 4 on your layout it looks like pins 1 and 5 ,unless the 555 pin out is different.I thought pin 1 was always top left ?
Or I'm looking at it backwards and you mounted the 10k and that other cap on the bottom of the board ?