VICTORY!!! well, at least so far my Zendrive works!

Started by jamiefbolton, August 13, 2010, 01:34:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jamiefbolton

Hey guys! I'm really excited right now! I just finished the Zendrive and everything works! All that's left is to mount into the enclosure and wire it up. What makes me excited is that I made my own layout with pots mounted to the perf. Now this make the build a bit bigger in BB size box, but hey not too bad for a guy like me. I'll post pics when I get the build completed.

BTW, I used NOS Germanium diodes from smallbear and a 4558D chip right now. I've got some more I'll try tonight or tomorrow!

jamiefbolton

Here are the pics of my completed build. I'm still learning this stuff, so my build isn't the neatest. I didn't use heat shrink. Probably should have. Anyway, I hope you like it. Please feel free to leave constructive comments. Please don't be harsh for my beginner build  :icon_biggrin:

stringsthings

Quote from: jamiefbolton on August 14, 2010, 10:42:37 PM
... I'm still learning this stuff, so my build isn't the neatest. I didn't use heat shrink. Probably should have. Anyway, I hope you like it. Please feel free to leave constructive comments. Please don't be harsh for my beginner build  :icon_biggrin:

nice job.  your choice of IC socket will let you experiment should you choose to do so.  ( the less expensive ones can be a bit fiddly ) ... heat shrink is not absolutely necessary as long as you're not getting any shorts ...  ( you may want to insulate the 1k resistor lead on the right hand side of the 2nd pic going to the power jack ... when you plug your lead in, it may cause a short )

Kearns892

Nice job, especially laying it out to have the pots mounted. My only advice is next time I would try to route most of the component leads on the underside of the board. Still good work!

jamiefbolton