Smokey amp in a pedal

Started by BulletBill, August 01, 2011, 06:13:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BulletBill

I want to take the dirty sound of my Smokey amp and put it in a pedal now that the cigarette box it came in has disintegrated. I can solder well enough but I'm a complete novice at putting together stuff like this.

Could take off the 9v battery input and swap it for a DC power input? How easy is this?
Can I just disconnect the speaker or would I need to put a resistor in?
I've read that I'd need a 10k pot to control the level, where would I connect this?
How easy to achieve is true bypass in something like this?

There's a schematic here but I'm ashamed to admit that it means very little to me. As such, I would be extremely grateful for any help or advice I can get.

-BB

MikeH

Quote from: BulletBill on August 01, 2011, 06:13:41 PM
I want to take the dirty sound of my Smokey amp and put it in a pedal now that the cigarette box it came in has disintegrated. I can solder well enough but I'm a complete novice at putting together stuff like this.

This explanation may sound complex, but it is pretty easy.  You'll need an enclosure, a switch (3pdt or dpdt), a DC jack, and possibly some different input and output jacks.

Could take off the 9v battery input and swap it for a DC power input? How easy is this?

Yes, you can actually use both if you wish.  The + wire (probably red) on the battery snap can be connected to the DC jack.  Check out #2 on this page here:

http://www.tonepad.com/getFile.asp?id=76

It shows a diagram to wire up a typical fx board.  You can just leave off the battery snap connections if you dont want to use one.  If you remove the snap part, connect the + wire from the board to the appropriate connection on the DC jack shown in the diagram.  The - connection will connect to the large lug on the DC jack