MXR Micro Amp, from General Guitar Gadgets.

Started by markbee, January 07, 2012, 07:52:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

markbee

Ive build a clone of MXR Micro Amp, its rather simple project and people recomended it to me. I followed this pattern http://generalguitargadgets.com/projects/15-boostersrouters/70-mxr-microamp-project . Im totally new to all this so you can imagine how much of a noob I probably am. I finished everyting just yesterday and the pedal does nothing. The signal doesnt eve get through the pedal in bypass mode. Its completely dead. I dont know where to start with searching for mistakes, Ive checked the wiring and it is ok. The only thing I changed was 22M resistor, I couldnt find it anywhere so I used two 10M and connected them paralely.
I dont know what to do, Im frustrated as hell. I will appreciate any help or advice. Thank you

Here are some photos if it helps you to see some mistakes or so. Wiring is messy but im sure its correct.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/407/fotografie0655.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/696/fotografie0656.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/846/fotografie0664.jpg/

twabelljr

It is hard to see the switch and jack wiring, but not having signal in bypass suggests something is wired wrong or the input is shorted. The 2 10M resistors you have wired in series is fine. If you can get the bypass sorted out and the pedal still does not work, post your voltages following the "DEBUGGING.." thread.
Shine On !!!

arma61

Hey looks like you IC is backward, the dot, pin 1, shoudl be towards the top of the board, where the wires are connected to. ;)

also if you can use socket for IC, just to be sure you don't overheat them.

Ciao

"it's a matter of objectives. If you don't know where you want to go, any direction is about as good as any other." R.G. Keen

markbee

arma61

All ? who knows  ;D

Let's say that with a wrongly placed IC surely it cannot work. Reverse it and let us kow.

Ciao